The 80s Single Dangle Earring

I love it.

  • Rob Lowe wore one in the form of a cross in 1985’s St. Elmo’s Fire.
  • In early Soundgarden footage (e.g. 1986), lead singer Chris Cornell sported a longer, more elaborate dangle featuring what looked like coins. Brave. He can wear anything 🙂 So gorgeous. If you’re curious, see minute 1:20-1:55

  • Peter DeLuise–partner cop to Johnny Depp–wore one in an episode of 21 Jump Street. I think it was the first episode that depicted a car thief also wearing a single dangle earring.

Like the fashion world, I have adopted this to women’s fashion. Our gender role is much more permissive of experimentation in dress. I paired a wide, silver dangle with a linear freshwater pearl dangle earring–the latter is not depicted. That picture also features me in an Eastern European-like vest and a yellow…ascot? cravat? I don’t know what it’s called. Jimmy Page of Led Zeppelin wore that type of tie all the time in the 60s and 70s. The vest was inspired by one he wore in a 1970 concert.

Plug: I offer some large yet light Latina dangle earrings on my jewellery site. They can be worn as a pair, single or in combination like me in the photo. I named one of them Azteca because I saw that fierce Aztec warriors wore something similar! Awesome.

https://adashofsilver.com

Leave a Reply

